starving for substance

Lessons Learned…

Posted in Uncategorized by starvingsteve on December 15, 2009

So recently I undertook a bet that sounds straight up retarded.

I bet someone $5 I could run 100 miles from December 12 to Christmas.  Keep in mind I haven’t exercised in about 2.5 months and my left leg is still a little stiff from a previous accident.

So why did I agree to this tomfoolery in the first place?  It’s not just my pride and has more to do with my ego (though that’s definitely there).

1.  I believe that the human body is capable of undergoing incredible duress and surviving. Think about every war crime committed during WWII and you will see stories of humans performing superhuman feats of survival.  This bet pales in comparison to what those people went through.  But I hate this “be thankful because other people have it worse” justification.  By that logic, in Heaven we will have nothing to be thankful for.  I refuse to be thankful simply because other people have it worse.  That’s just reveling in the misery of others.  So….

2.  I need to prove something to myself. The past 4.5 years I’ve been letting people dictate life to me on their own terms.  If someone tells me that a class is going to be hard, I just roll over and let it own me.  It doesn’t own me because I tried and failed, but because I gave up before it even started.  I would let the notions other people had in their mind become the foundation for which I approached things.  I don’t have something to prove to other people, but I have to prove something to myself first.  When I first heard the challenge I knew it would hurt like the dickens but I thought I could do it.  Basically it comes to the idea that I need to refuse to let ideas other people have in their mind of what is safe, what is “correct,” what is possible, determine the course that I do things in life(obviously this is not a blanket statement and should be taken as such.  I still need to submit to older/wiser individuals but haven’t heard anyone give me a good reason as to why I shouldn’t do this).  When giving advice about trading, a renowned trader once talked about having the guts to trust in what you think is right.  When the whole market seems to tell you you’re wrong, do you have the intestinal fortitude to stand by what you think is right?  In the same sense, when the question of morality comes into play, can I stand up for what is right when everyone else says the opposite?  Yes, this is a slippery slope argument but I think it bears some validity.  I’m not saying that if I can do this I will be able to take a stand for what is right when the world wants to kill me but Rome wasn’t built in a day either.

3.  I haven’t pushed myself physically in years. I used to have a swim coach who gave us interval work with our effort based entirely on our heart rate.  Like instead of “easy” he would write “120-140” indicating what our heart rate should be around.  Test sets (workouts that will induce vomit) had heart rates listed as “200+” meaning go until you felt like dying, then go a little bit faster.  I managed to get my heart rate around 220-230 beats per minute.  Later, I found out that a heart beating that fast can fail.  But I didn’t know that.  It just felt good to end that set.  I want to test myself, see how far I can push myself.  Haha that being said, I hit the wall today.  Couldn’t run anymore and had to limp home.  The temperature was plummeting and I had to walk a shivering mile back home, showing signs of hypothermia by the time I made it back (loss of motor control, confusion, excessive shivering), so maybe I got this goal out of the way, hahahaha oh my.

Also, a special thanks to the one person who didn’t call me dumb/stupid/”it’s not safe”/”you’re just trying to feed your ego”/”that’s retarded” for trying this.  Not saying names but he’s the best bowling captain ever and maintains a hilarious blog.  Thanks buddy!

So here we go, I got 78 miles left!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hannah said, on December 15, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    I think this is an honorable goal, but just make sure you’re safe… know your limits. Part of the reason why I wrecked my knee was that I ran too much too soon.

    PS: I believe in you! 🙂

    • starvingsteve said, on December 17, 2009 at 7:05 pm

      thanks! haha i think i hit my limit a couple days ago…

      however, i did incidentally create the fastest 5k training program ever. after 1 day of training, go run your first 5k! then after 3 days of training, run your first 10k! then die because your legs have no idea what just happened to them! hahaha


Leave a Reply

